The Salzkammergut Regions

Three federal states and eight regions

Three provinces combine to make the Salzkammergut one of the most beautiful areas to explore in Austria.

Each region is a world apart. But they have one thing in common: the beauty of a landscape that invites you to hike its mountains, dive into its lakes, enjoy its nature and let yourself be enchanted.

The combination of a variety of lakes, mountains and world-famous places like Hallstatt or Bad Ischl, both UNESCO World Heritage Sites are unique. More than 70 bathing lakes - small and large, deep and shallow, greenish and turquoise blue. The region, which lies between the Dachstein massif, the Totem Gebirge and the Höllengebirge mountains in the provinces of Upper Austria, Salzburg and Styria, takes its name from the salt that has been mined here since time immemorial.